Dato’ Abdul Majit Bin Ahmad Khan

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Dato’ Abdul Majit bin Ahmad Khan was appointed to the Board of Unitrade Industries Berhad (“Unitrade” or “the Group”) as a Independent Non-Executive Chairman on 15 September 2021 and redesignated as Independent Non-Executive Chairman on 2 September 2022.

Dato’ Abdul Majit holds a Bachelor of Economics (Honours) from University of Malaya. He had served with the government for 34 years in various capacities in the Prime Minister’s Department and Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia to strengthen Malaysia’s bi-lateral relations. As a diplomat, Dato’ Abdul Majit gained wide exposure having served in various countries, namely Laos, Vietnam, USA, Nigeria as well as the People’s Republic of China.

Dato’ Abdul Majit also held the positions of Under Secretary of South East Asia and South Pacific Division, Under Secretary of West Asia and the Organisation in Islamic Cooperation (“OIC”), in addition to being the Director General of the ASEAN Division of the Foreign Ministry. In these capacities, he participated in several Prime Ministerial and Ministerial visits to the respective countries, including to ASEAN and OIC meetings and  summits. Furthermore, he had served as the Chairman of Malaysian Investment Development Authority (“MIDA”) between April 2019 and April 2021.

Presently, Dato’ Abdul Majit is the President of the Malaysia-China Friendship Association, the Honorary President of the Malaysia China Chamber of Commerce, as well as an Adjunct Professor at the Institute of China Studies in University of Malaya. He is also the cofounder of the Cheng He International Peace Foundation.

Dato’ Abdul Majit serves as a Director on the board of Zecon Berhad, MGB Berhad, DutaLand Berhad and Hong Leong Asset Management Berhad.

Dato’ Abdul Majit does not have any family relationship with any Director and/or major shareholder of the Company, nor does he have any conflict of interest with the Group. He has not been convicted of any offences within the past five (5) years nor any public sanction or penalty imposed by regulatory bodies during the financial year.